The University of Derby is a public university in the city of Derby, England. It traces its history back to the establishment of the Derby Diocesan Institution for the Training of Schoolmistresses in 1851. It gained university status in 1992. The university provides over 300 study programmes at undergraduate level.

The university provides a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses, as well as research opportunities. It has four main faculties: Arts, Business, Education, and Health and Social Care.

The university has a strong commitment to employability and offers a range of services to support students in their career development. It also has an active research community, with over 40% of its income coming from research grants and contracts.


The University of Derby is located in the city of Derby, in the United Kingdom. The city is situated in the Midlands region of England, and is about midway between Birmingham and Sheffield.

Derby is a relatively small city, with a population of around 250,000. However, it is well-connected, being just over an hour from London by train.


The University has top courses in Art, Mechanical Engineering and Education. Click below to discover the wide range of courses that the University of Derby offers.