The University of Chester is a public university located in Chester, England. The university originated as the first purpose-built teacher training college in the UK. As a university, it now occupies five campus sites in and around Chester, one in Warrington, and a University Centre in Shrewsbury. The university was founded in 1839.

At the heart of the University’s vision is an unwavering commitment to ensuring an outstanding student learning experience, developing the expertise of staff, providing teaching excellence, and actively growing research and scholarship.

Through these actions, the University hopes to make a positive impact on the lives of students, staff, and the communities that it serves, enabling the institution to make a significant and growing contribution to the region, nationally and internationally.

In valuing and celebrating its long history and traditions, the University is committed to engendering a sense of pride and shared ownership in all that it does. It is dynamic and enterprising in its approach to developing new opportunities.


The University of Chester is located in North West England in the city of Chester, close to the border with Wales. It is a beautiful and vibrant city, with a rich history dating back to the Roman era. The university campus is located just a short walk from the city centre, making it easy for students to explore all that Chester has to offer.


The University of Chester offers a wide range of degree courses, from traditional disciplines such as history and English, to more modern ones such as media studies and sports science. There is something to suit everyone, whether you are looking to pursue a career in academia or the professional world.

Click below to discover the wide range of courses that the University of Chester offers.